Going Deep: New Moon/Partial Solar Eclipse in Cancer 2018

 Demänová cave of freedom, "Emerald Lake"; photo by  Juloml

Demänová cave of freedom, "Emerald Lake"; photo by Juloml

New Moon/Partial Solar Eclipse @ 20 degrees Cancer 41'

July 12, 2018

7:48 PM Los Angeles

10:48 PM New York

July 13, 2018

3:48 AM London

6:48 AM Dubai

10:49 AM Beijing

12:48 PM Sydney

2:48 PM Auckland

On July 12/13, the Moon will slightly graze the solar disk. In tropical Cancer, a partial solar eclipse will be visible in the extreme southern hemisphere. While this isn't an especially potent eclipse by itself, its near exact (and contra-parallel) opposition to Pluto gives it an extra edge. Marking the beginning of the final eclipse season of 2018, this New Moon culminates as a highly dynamic total lunar eclipse in just two weeks. 

In the midst of Mars currently in retrograde and an approaching Mercury retrograde cycle (beginning July 25), the astrology of the next month is exceptionally vibrant. In Cancer, this New Moon/partial eclipse highlights our sensitivities, vulnerabilities, and deeply concealed feelings. Ruled by the Moon, the sign of Cancer symbolizes the human need for security, safety, and trusted human bonds. 

Attuned to the inner life and imagination, the Cancer archetype prefers to lay low or at least stick with more intimate and meaningful interactions. As mentioned, sitting in direct opposition to this New Moon/eclipse is Pluto, confronting us with both a magnified emotional response and the surfacing of highly unconscious or repressed psychic content. 

Given the context of the background astrology, most notably Mars retrograde, this isn't a good time to force things to completion or reach definitive conclusions, especially if we find ourselves reacting solely on emotion. This New Moon encourages reflection and observation. For some, this lunation could be somewhat uncomfortable with the sudden emergence of feelings or unanticipated reactions. 

On a collective level, this New Moon can ignite a conversation about ignored social injustices, corruption of power, atrocities, and all things discarded. On the personal level, this lunation is a starting point for expanding awareness of realities which have gone long neglected. But deep healing is always possible as we choose to face what scares us about ourselves or our environment. 

Combined with Mars retrograde nearing the lunar South Node, this Plutonian New Moon/eclipse adds further fuel to a process of dealing with or moving through unresolved anger, rage, frustration, or fear. It's an ideal moment to deal with these residual feelings and find safe, healthy outlets for their release or expression. 

Pluto ultimately beckons us beyond our concerns to take part in something more extensive, meaningful, and fulfilling. What often prevents us from connecting to the greater community are our own personal hangups, wounds, or insecurities. The more we shed light on such things, the more empowered we become to extend our reach beyond ourselves so we can take part in healing the planet. 

Life feels overwhelming when faced with things outside of your control. Understanding yourself is key to finding your power and place in the world. While you can't control fate or the chaos of life, your destiny belongs to you, something you can always strive for to gain command of your life path

CLICK HERE FOR PERSONAL READINGS