The Mutable Surge: Full Moon in Gemini 2018

 Lavínya Silva [CC BY-SA 3.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], from Wikimedia Commons

Lavínya Silva [CC BY-SA 3.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], from Wikimedia Commons

Full Moon @ 0 Gemini 52’

November 22, 2018

9:39 PM Los Angeles

November 23, 2018

12:39 AM New York

5:39 AM London

1:39 PM Beijing

4:39 PM Sydney

This month's lunar culmination occurs in the tropical sign of Gemini, just as the Sun enters the adventurous and broad-minded sign of Sagittarius. With Mars in Pisces, Mercury retrograde, and Jupiter in Sagittarius too, the mutable energy is particularly strong, emphasizing transition, change, and fluctuation. In typical Gemini style, this Full Moon can bring about an influx of information, stimulation, and heightened activity which has the capacity to help change a viewpoint or perspective.

Jupiter's opposition and conjunction with the Sun can inflame the Gemini qualities of curiosity, restlessness, and adaptability. Yes, narrowly focusing on a specific task or activity will be difficult with this lunation. And Gemini dominance can pull us in multiple directions. But after the more focused intensity of Scorpio season (Venus retro in Scorpio, too), this Full Moon can feel liberating and optimistic.

To effectively work with this Full Moon, you'll need to remain flexible. With Full Moon ruler, Mercury, now retrograde and in fall, unexpected variables and accommodations are likely to surface. Detours, delays, and glitches are always common under Mercury retrograde, so finalizing a decision under this Full Moon may not be ideal or even possible. The next two weeks of Mercury retrograde can help you make critical revisions to a viewpoint, belief, or ideology.

If confronted with an opportunity under this Full Moon, take your time in considering its full ramifications. Consider that there's likely more than one way to approach or deal with any situation which arises now. The possibilities can seem endless under this Gemini lunation. Mars' square from Pisces can stimulate intuitive action, but also thoughtless reactions which can lead to conflicts, recklessness, or accidents.

It may be wise to go with flow under this Full Moon, but be mindful of impulsive tendencies or getting caught in heated, ideological debates with no resolution. The dominant Full Moon archetypes can empower fanaticism and dogmatism, as much as the potential of expanding one's mind. The positive end of Gemini accepts what it doesn't know and seeks to understand it. The negative end defends its fragmented version of the truth.

Yet, Jupiter's involvement in this lunation stimulates the desire for expansion and growth. Mercury retrograde in Sagittarius pushes us to think outside the restrictive parameters of our preconditioned ways of seeing the world. To avoid the problems associated with this Full Moon, think before taking a leap. Jupiter in Sagittarius can lead to overconfidence or taking on too much too fast. Pace yourself with this lunation, and choose to listen and learn something new.